

Karen Kain Artistic Director Barry Hughson Executive Director

2014/15



#9

Rolex Dancers First Winners: Rebekah Rimsay, Elena Lobsanova and Dylan Tedaldi

September 23, 2014... Karen Kain, Artistic Director of The National Ballet of Canada announced today that Principal Character Artist Rebekah Rimsay, First Soloist Elena Lobsanova and Second Soloist Dylan Tedaldi are the recipients of the Rolex Dancers First Award. Ms. Kain and Victor Royce, President and CEO of Rolex Canada Ltd. presented the award at a dinner and presentation in Toronto last night.

The Rolex *Dancers First* Award recognizes outstanding performances in the previous season and is juried by a committee of members of the National Ballet's Artistic Staff.

Ms. Rimsay is awarded for her brilliant portrayals of the Stepmother and Stepsister in *Cinderella*. Ms. Lobsanova is honoured for her breathtaking performance of Juliet in *Romeo and Juliet*. Mr. Tedaldi is recognized for his extraordinary performance in *Spectre de la Rose*. Each was awarded \$3,000 and a work by glass artist Elizabeth Beecham of Glasstronomy Studios.

The *Dancers First* programme supports all the dancers of the National Ballet with funds for artistic development and health and wellness resources. Currently, there are 16 generous donors who are members of *Dancers First*.

This is the fifth year that the award has been sponsored by Rolex Canada. Since its inception, Rolex has always encouraged individual excellence and the pursuit of perfection. In keeping with this long tradition, Rolex continues to contribute to the arts world through its various sponsorship activities.

The Rolex Dancers First Award is presented by Rolex Canada Ltd.

Romeo and Juliet is presented by Brandy Lane Homes.

Physical Thinking is presented by KPMG LLP.

Cinderella is a gift from The Volunteer Committee, The National Ballet of Canada.

Lead philanthropic support for *Romeo and Juliet* is provided by Sandra Pitblado & Jim Pitblado, C.M., with additional generous support from Sandra Faire & Ivan Fecan, The Catherine and Maxwell Meighen Foundation, an anonymous friend of the National Ballet and Walter Carsen, O.C.

Lead philanthropic support for *Spectre de la Rose* is provided by an anonymous friend of the National Ballet and The Producers' Circle: John & Claudine Bailey, David Binet, Susanne Boyce & Dr. Brendan Mullen, Gail Drummond & Bob Dorrance, Sandra Faire & Ivan Fecan, Kevin & Roger Garland, The William & Nona Heaslip Foundation, Rosamond Ivey, Hal



Karen Kain Artistic Director

Barry Hughson Executive Director

2014/15



Jackman Foundation, Anna McCowan-Johnson & Donald K. Johnson, O.C., Judy Korthals & Peter Irwin, Judith & Robert Lawrie, Mona & Harvey Levenstein, Joan & Jerry Lozinski, The Honourable Margaret Norrie McCain, C.C., Julie Medland, Sandra Pitblado & Jim Pitblado, C.M., Lynda & Jonas Prince, Sandra L. Simpson and Noreen Taylor & David Staines, O.C.

Elena Lobsanova is sponsored through Dancers First by Sandra Faire & Ivan Fecan.

The National Ballet of Canada gratefully acknowledges the ongoing support of the Canada Council for the Arts; the Ontario Arts Council; the City of Toronto through the Economic Development & Culture Department; the Government of Canada – Department of Canadian Heritage, through the Honourable Shelly Glover, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages; and the Government of Ontario through the Honourable Michael Coteau, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport.

- 30 -

For more information, please contact:

Catherine Chang Senior Public Relations Manager 416 345 9686 x302 cchang@national.ballet.ca national.ballet.ca Christine Achampong
Publicity Coordinator
416 345 9686 x332
cachampong@national.ballet.ca
national.ballet.ca